Eastern Europe CaucasusInternational Energy Agency | © OECD/IEA, 2014 |


This paper provides highlights of the energy policy reviews of 11 countries in Eastern Europe, Caucasus and Central Asia (Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, Kazakhstan,

Kyrgyzstan, Moldova, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Ukraine and Uzbekistan), including key recommendations for energy policy makers in each country. The reviews were conducted
by the International Energy Agency (IEA) under the European Union (EU)-funded INOGATE programme, in co-operation with the INOGATE Technical Secretariat and governments
of the INOGATE Partner Countries.1

It provides background information on the INOGATE programme and the key findings of two peer review cycles which were conducted in the course of 2013 and 2014. It also highlights common challenges and opportunities shared by the reviewed countries from the region.

The individual country energy policy reviews will be released under a single publication entitled Eastern Europe, Caucasus and Central Asia, as part of the Energy Policies Beyond
the IEA series, due to be launched in early 2015. These country reviews assess the energy policy directions of the INOGATE Partner Countries and provide country-specific
recommendations for local energy policy makers.

Energy policy reviews focus on each country’s developments related to improving overall energy security, promoting domestic and regional market convergence, sustainable energy
developments and attracting necessary investments.

See More: INOGATE_Summary_FINAL